Detail information event

Event name2017 Odyssey of Speed
Start DateWednesday, March 1, 2017
End DateSaturday, September 30, 2017

  Event description and NOR

Notice of Race  (Ver. 1.0)


The Odyssey of Speed is taking place at all windsurfing spots in Greece, which are registered under


The Odyssey of Speed will be based on current GPS-measuring standards and rules.

The Basic Rules of Version 9.1 A2 (ref.1) apply.

Scoring / Results

‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

Within the course of the event the following speed/slalom categories will be considered for the ranking:

  • Cat. A:      2 sec GPS max. Speed
  • Cat. B:      5 x 10sec GPS average
  • Cat. C:      500 m GPS max.
  • Cat. D:      1 hour GPS max.
  • Cat. E:      Alpha Racing (500m)
  • Cat. F:      Maximum Distance travelled during one day (24 hours)

Each session result needs to be uploaded to using the automatic upload function of the approved evaluation software (see ref.1. §6). Multiple sessions during a day are allowed (see ref.1 §.11), when they are sailed at different locations. For sessions sailed at one location multiple sessions concatenated to one session (e.g. for 24 hours distance category) are not allowed.

Sessions shall be uploaded not later than two weeks after they have been sailed. Uploads are possible until 30.09.2017. 23:59. Any sessions uploaded after this deadline can not be considered for the ranking.

All GPS tracks needs to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

Scoring: For the event’s ranking points will be awarded for the best performance in each category during the period of the event. For each category all competitors are awarded points equivalent to their ranking position in each category, except the first place, which is awarded 0.7 points. Competitors who will not supply a result for a category during the event or who are disqualified score the points awarded to the last possible finishing position.

The Overall ranking will be based the accumulated points out of all categories

The updated results will be communicated on the event website, the associate Facebook page, on and the HSSWA website

Sailing Equipment

Only windsurfing equipment is approved.

GPS Equipment

All GPS units approved by, which feature ‘Doppler’-Speeds are approved. Namely these are

Entry fee

The Odyssey of Speed is free and there is no entry fee.

Awards & Prizes

The winner will be awarded with the title ‘Odysseus of Speed 2017’ and will along with that receive the travelling trophy of the Odyssey of Speed.   


Each participant should take responsibility for himself and can be disqualified if he/she exposes herself or others at unnecessary risk. If extra weights are used a vest must support the weights or equivalent that provides a positive buoyancy of the weights. Wetsuit, etc. are not counted as flotation devices. Sailors who refuse to provide help to those who show emergency signal will be disqualified.


Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.


The 'Odyssey of Speed'  is supported by the following sponsors:

The event is open for further sponsoring


The event is organized by Tim Otte in close cooperation with the Hellenic Speed Slalom Windsurfing Association (HSSWA).

  Event messages

Event subscribers
1Nick Vardalachos50.93
2Christian Bornemann48.22
3Christian Bornemann48.22
4Dirk Jan Knol47.62
5Damien Nico46.08
6Minos Efstathiadis45.55
7Johnny Tuijn44.87
8Johan Huitema44.67
9Eric Groot-van Ederen41.77
10Philip Adamidis41.6
11Tim Otte40.84
12Oane Kingma40.24
13Alexandros Petikidis39.63
14Sakellariou Kostas39.32
15Thomopoulos Dinos38.94
16John Papaspirou38.69
17Bjorn Drogtrop38.56
18Thodoros Romanos38.55
19Thodoros Romanos38.55
20Thodoros Romanos38.55
21Markus Tauber38.54
22Markus Tauber38.54
23Papandrikopoulos Konstantinos38.49
24Vladan Desnica38.1
25Manolis Kapnisakis37.57
26Doxis Milidakis37.31
27Alkis Vovos36.82
28Georgios Flamis36.58
29Kuba Kaczmarek36.27
30Stephanos Grapsas36.27
31Stephanos Grapsas36.27
32Stephanos Grapsas36.27
33Stephanos Grapsas36.27
34Stephanos Grapsas36.27
35Babis Sakadaris36.2
36Babis Sakadaris36.2
37Nick Doris35.87
38Nick Doris35.87
39Nick Doris35.87
40Nick Doris35.87
41kostas laliotis35.87
42Roland Ruskauff35.79
43George Papagiannakis35.64
44Kostas Stamboulis35.36
45Konstantinos Dimopoulos35.31
46Dimitris Lentzos34.73
47Dimitris Lentzos34.73
48Dimitris Lentzos34.73
49Ilias Tsekouras34.59
50Tomislav Jaklin34.43
51Antonis Giannopoulos33.42
52Dimitris Papagiannakis33.15
53Socrates Costicoglou33.08
54Kostas Ntotsias33.05
55Leta Margoni32.99
56Mavris Haris32.76
57Thodoros Kritikos32.52
58Urska Desnica32.41
59Mario Kontis31.08
60Giannis Reglis30.95
61Peter Stroi30.85
62George Andrikopoulos30.79
64Vasilis Zervas29.88
65Sofia Koukouzeli29.86
66Constantinos Christopoulos29.02
67Soulis Syrakis28.84
68Dimitris Bregiannis28.53
69Dimitris Bregiannis28.53
70Dimitris Bregiannis28.53
71Dimitris Bregiannis28.53
72Petros Triantafillis28.48
73Nicole Skodda27.64
74Zogkas Nikolaos26.68
75Inga Kontis26.07
76Hlias Apostolou25.56
77Goulielmos Giorgos25.32
78Chocho Chankov25.06
79Asterios Drogalas24.68
80Asterios Drogalas24.68
81Asterios Drogalas24.68
82Vessela Katsarska24.52
83Alexander Trylinsky23.06
84David van Ederen17.66