Detail informatie evenement

Evenement naam2014 Odyssey of Speed
Start Datumzaterdag 1 maart 2014
Eind Datumdinsdag 30 september 2014

  Event beschrijving en NOR

Official Notice of Race (NoR) for download on the event web site:


The Odyssey of Speed is taking place at all windsurfing spots in Greece, which are registered under


The Odyssey of Speed will take place from the 01.03.2014 until 30.09.2014.


The Basic Rules of www.gps-speedsurfing.comVersion 9.0 (ref. 1) apply.

This year the event will include two different classes with two different rankings.

1.     ‘TITANS’ Classfor Speedsurfers

2.     ‘EXCITE’ Class for Freeriders (being advised touse on non-speed equipment or rental equipment from the local surf stations)

As the ‘EXCITE’ class is supposed to be the class for freeriders, serious speedsurfers are advised to compete in the ‘TITANS’ class. Any sailor can participate in one class only, either ‘TITANS’ or ‘EXCITE’ class. Beside this, any windsurfer that has on www.gps-speedsurfing.coma Max Speed (2sec) recorded higher than 38 knots and/or is a registered rider in the ISWC or PWA is not allowed to compete in the ‘EXCITE’ Class.

Scoring / Results

1.‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

Within the course of the event the following speed/slalom categories will be considered for the ranking:

  • Cat. A:             2 sec GPS max. Speed
  • Cat. B:             5 x 10sec GPS average
  • Cat. C:            500 m GPS max.
  • Cat. D:            1 hour GPS max.
  • Cat. E:             Alpha Racing (500m)
  • Cat. F:             Maximum Distance travelled during one day (24 hours)

For the ‘TITANS’ Class each session result needs to be uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comusing the automatic upload function of the approved evaluation software (see ref.1. §8). Multiple sessions during a day are allowed (see ref.1 §.11), however should be avoided. Sessions shall be uploaded not later than two weeks after they have been sailed. Uploads are possible until 30.09.2014. 20:00. Any sessions uploaded after this deadline can not be considered for the ranking.

All GPS tracks needs to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

Scoring: For the event’s ranking points will be awarded for the best performance in each category during the period of the event. For each category all competitors are awarded points equivalent to their ranking position in each category, except the first place, which is awarded 0.7 points. Competitors who will not supply a result for a category during the event or who are disqualified score the points awarded to the last possible finishing position.

The Overall ranking will be based the accumulated points out of all categories.

2. ‘EXCITE’ Class

In order to keep it simple in the ‘EXCITE’-Class only the Cat. A: 2 sec GPS max. Speed during any session will be considered. The GPS tracks must be also uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comand marked as ‘EXITE-Class’ in the comment space. Contact us if you need help for session uploading procedures.

The ranking will be made considering all posted results in the entire period.

The updated results will be communicated on the event website,on www.gps-speedsurfing.comand the HSSWA website and at the participating surf stations on-site in Karpathos.

Sailing Equipment

Only windsurfing equipment is approved.

GPS Equipment

The official GPS of the 'Odyssey of Speed' is the LOCOSYS GT-31/BGT-31. This are the only GPS units currently recommended by International GPS Speed Sailing Organizations. Only sessions recorded by GT-31 (and GT-11) units will be recognized.


·       to be announced


Entry fee

The Odyssey of Speed is free and there is no entry fee.

Awards & Prizes

The winner in the ‘TITANS’-Class will be awarded with the title ‘Odysseus of Speed 2013’ and will along with that receive the travelling trophy of the Odyssey of Speed.   

HSSWA – Speed King Titles

Further to the main trophy, among all participants of the Odyssey of Speed, the HSSWA will award the title/s “Speed King of ….. ” to every spot that manages by the end of the event, to present a ranking with more than 5 participants. For the Speed King only the fastest 5 x 10sec GPS averagesession(Cat. B) will count. Each "King" (or "Queen"!) will be presented with his/her Award during the HSSWA Year Overall Ranking prize giving!


Already confirmed prizes, detailed prizing scheme will follow:

·       (1) one week free accommodation in the new Thalassa Suites in Afiartis (valid outside of High-Season)

·       (3) MAUI ULTRA Fins (free of choice)

·       150€ Travel voucher from NETtoSUN

·       others to be announced soon!


Each participant should take responsibility for himself and can be disqualified if he/she exposes herself or others at unnecessary risk. If extra weights are used a vest must support the weights or equivalent that provides a positive buoyancy of the weights. Wetsuit, etc. are not counted as flotation devices. Sailors who refuse to provide help to those who show emergency signal will be disqualified.


Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.


The event is organized by Tim Otte in close cooperation with the Hellenic Speed Slalom Windsurfing Association (HSSWA).



  Event meldingen

Deelnemers event
1Nick Vardalachos94,32
2Dirk Jan Knol88,2
3Minos Efstathiadis84,37
4Anders Bjorkqvist84,22
5Johnny Tuijn83,1
6Johan Huitema82,74
7Danny Verhaar79,13
8Tim Otte75,64
9Oane Kingma74,52
10Wesley Deleye73,75
11Alexandros Petikidis73,39
12Sakellariou Kostas72,83
13Albanis George72,16
14Thomopoulos Dinos72,12
15Alexander Doukas71,66
16John Papaspirou71,66
17John Papaspirou71,66
18Bjorn Enqvist71,64
19Marie-Paule Geldhof71,63
20Bjorn Drogtrop71,41
21Markus Tauber71,38
22Papandrikopoulos Konstantinos71,28
23Vladan Desnica70,56
24Chris van Binsbergen70,29
25Mats Ferner69,77
26Panagiotis Chairopoulos69,72
27Manolis Kapnisakis69,58
28Johan Tas69,49
29Doxis Milidakis69,1
30Anders Lundvall68,72
31Dimitris Apalagakis68,13
32Adrian Kezele67,56
33Stephanos Grapsas67,17
34Babis Sakadaris67,05
35Nick Doris66,43
36Nathan Teljeur66,39
37Roland Ruskauff66,29
38George Papagiannakis66,01
39Alex Kingaby65,58
40Frank Langhorst64,42
41Ilias Tsekouras64,05
42George Kantzouros63,66
43Magnus Lundvall62,75
44Antonis Giannopoulos61,9
45Dimitris Papagiannakis61,4
46Socrates Costicoglou61,26
47Kostas Ntotsias61,2
48Leta Margoni61,11
49Mavris Haris60,67
50Thodoros Kritikos60,22
51Urska Desnica60,03
52Kanapitsas Georgios59,86
53Christos Galiropoulos59,6
54Mario Kontis57,56
55Peter Stroi57,13
56Philip Gavrilos55,55
57Dennis Grootaers55,48
58Alex Mauroeidis54,86
59Pantelis Orestis Katsoudas54,7
61Constantinos Christopoulos53,74
62Kostas Raptis53,51
63Soulis Syrakis53,41
64Nikos Bourdis52,32
65Nicole Skodda51,19
66Ioannis Gkekas48,06
67Chocho Chankov46,41
68Goulielmos Giorgos46,16
69Asterios Drogalas45,7
70Vessela Katsarska45,41