Detail information event

Event name2013 Odyssey of Speed
Start DateFriday, March 1, 2013
End DateMonday, September 30, 2013
Event moderatorTim Otte

  Event description and NOR


Official Notice of Race (NoR) for download on the event web site:


The Odyssey of Speed is taking place at all windsurfing spots in Greece, which are registered under


The Odyssey of Speed will take place from the 01.03.2013 until 30.09.2013.


The Basic Rules of www.gps-speedsurfing.comVersion 9.0 (ref. 1) apply.

This year the event will include two different classes with two different rankings.

1.     ‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

2.     ‘EXCITE’ Class for Freeriders (being advised to use non-speed equipment or rental equipment from the local surf stations)

As the ‘EXCITE’ class is supposed to be the class for freeriders, serious speedsurfers are advised to compete in the ‘TITANS’ class. Any sailor can participate in one class only, either ‘TITANS’ or ‘EXCITE’ class. Beside this, any windsurfer that has on www.gps-speedsurfing.coma Max Speed (2sec) recorded higher than 38 knots and/or is a registered rider in the ISWC or PWA is not allowed to compete in the ‘EXCITE’ Class.

Scoring / Results

1.‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

Within the course of the event the following speed/slalom categories will be considered for the ranking:

  • Cat. A:             2 sec GPS max. Speed
  • Cat. B:             5 x 10sec GPS average
  • Cat. C:             500 m GPS max.
  • Cat. D:            1 hour GPS max.
  • Cat. E:             Alpha Racing (500m)
  • Cat. F:             Maximum Distance travelled during one day (24 hours)

For the ‘TITANS’ Class each session result needs to be uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comusing the automatic upload function of the approved evaluation software (see ref.1. §8). Multiple sessions during a day are allowed (see ref.1 §.11), however should be avoided. Sessions shall be uploaded not later than two weeks after they have been sailed. Uploads are possible until 30.09.2013. 20:00. Any sessions uploaded after this deadline can not be considered for the ranking.

All GPS tracks needs to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

Scoring: For the event’s ranking points will be awarded for the best performance in each category during the period of the event. For each category all competitors are awarded points equivalent to their ranking position in each category, except the first place, which is awarded 0.7 points. Competitors who will not supply a result for a category during the event or who are disqualified score the points awarded to the last possible finishing position.

The Overall ranking will be based the accumulated points out of all categories.

2. ‘EXCITE’ Class

In order to keep it simple in the ‘EXCITE’-Class only the Cat. A: 2 sec GPS max. Speed during any session will be considered. The GPS tracks must be also uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comand marked as ‘EXITE-Class’ in the comment space. Contact us if you need help for session uploading procedures.

The ranking will be made considering all posted results in the entire period.

The updated results will be communicated on the event website,on www.gps-speedsurfing.comand the HSSWA website and at the participating surf stations on-site in Karpathos.

Sailing Equipment

Only windsurfing equipment is approved.

GPS Equipment

The official GPS of the 'Odyssey of Speed' is the LOCOSYS GT-31/BGT-31. This are the only GPS units currently recommended by International GPS Speed Sailing Organizations. Only sessions recorded by GT-31 (and GT-11) units will be recognized.

Entry fee

The Odyssey of Speed is free and there is no entry fee.

Awards & Prizes

The winner in the ‘TITANS’-Class will be awarded with the title ‘Odysseus of Speed 2013’ and will along with that receive the travelling trophy of the Odyssey of Speed.   

HSSWA – Speed King Titles

Further to the main trophy, among all participants of the Odyssey of Speed, the HSSWA will award the title/s “Speed King of ….. ” to every spot that manages by the end of the event, to present a ranking with more than 5 participants. For the Speed King only the fastest 5 x 10sec GPS averagesession(Cat. B) will count. Each "King" (or "Queen"!) will be presented with his/her Award during the HSSWA Year Overall Ranking prize giving!

Already confirmed prizes, detailed prizing scheme will follow:

·       (1) one week free accommodation in the new Thalassa Suites in Afiartis (valid outside of High-Season)

·       (2) VECTORFINS Maui fin (Slalom type)

·       (3) MAUI ULTRA Fins (G10 type - free of choice)

·       (1) Week free rental equipment at CLUB MISTRAL Karpathos

·       (4) LOCOSYS GT-31 GPS units

·       (4) AQUAPAC waterproof cases

·       (1) GO Bandit HD Camera sponsored by SURF TOOLS


Each participant should take responsibility for himself and can be disqualified if he/she exposes herself or others at unnecessary risk. If extra weights are used a vest must support the weights or equivalent that provides a positive buoyancy of the weights. Wetsuit, etc. are not counted as flotation devices. Sailors who refuse to provide help to those who show emergency signal will be disqualified.


Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.


The event is organized by Tim Otte in close cooperation with the Hellenic Speed Slalom Windsurfing Association (HSSWA).

on Facebook



  Event messages

Event subscribers
1Nick Vardalachos50.93
2Markus Emanuelsson48.81
3Christian Bornemann48.22
4Dirk Jan Knol47.62
5Minos Efstathiadis45.55
6Anders Bjorkqvist45.47
7Johnny Tuijn44.87
8Johan Huitema44.67
9Eric Groot-van Ederen41.77
10Panagiotis Drakopoulos41.31
11Tim Otte40.84
12Armin Hoefer40.54
13Oane Kingma40.24
14Alexandros Petikidis39.63
15Sakellariou Kostas39.32
16Albanis George38.96
17Thomopoulos Dinos38.94
18Alexander Doukas38.7
19John Papaspirou38.69
20Markus Tauber38.54
21Henrick Schill38.54
22Vladan Desnica38.1
23Mats Ferner37.68
24Panagiotis Chairopoulos37.64
25Manolis Kapnisakis37.57
26Doxis Milidakis37.31
27Birgit Hoefer37.16
28Boufis Vaggelis37.02
29Dimitris Apalagakis36.79
30Adrian Kezele36.48
31Antonio Cretella36.45
32Antonio Cretella36.45
33Stephanos Grapsas36.27
34Babis Sakadaris36.2
35Roland Ruskauff35.79
36George Papagiannakis35.64
37Kostas Stamboulis35.36
38Ilias Tsekouras34.59
39Tomislav Jaklin34.43
40George Kantzouros34.37
41Konstantinos Karavatas33.58
42Hannes Rieger33.44
43Fotios Papadopoulos33.43
44Antonis Giannopoulos33.42
45Dionisis Mitropoulos33.16
46Dimitris Papagiannakis33.15
47Socrates Costicoglou33.08
48Kostas Ntotsias33.05
49Leta Margoni32.99
50Mavris Haris32.76
51Thodoros Kritikos32.52
52Urska Desnica32.41
53Kanapitsas Georgios32.32
54Christos Galiropoulos32.18
55Haris Andreadakis31.82
56Michalis Korakas31.71
57Nikos Skouras31.31
58Mario Kontis31.08
59Angelo Avramopoulos31.06
60Panagiotis Tsoukalas30.93
61Jaap Oudesluijs30.83
63Philip Gavrilos29.99
64Alex Mauroeidis29.62
65George Manev29.56
66Aris Koutras29.42
67Michalis Doukas29.39
68Constantinos Christopoulos29.02
69Kostas Raptis28.89
70Soulis Syrakis28.84
71Giorgos Maretsis28.43
72Giorgos Maretsis28.43
73Giorgos Maretsis28.43
74Giorgos Maretsis28.43
75Giorgos Maretsis28.43
76Giorgos Maretsis28.43
77Giorgos Maretsis28.43
78Giorgos Maretsis28.43
79Nikos Bourdis28.25
80Nicole Skodda27.64
81Matthias Florian27.53
82Thanos Sakkas27.52
83Panagos George26.8
84George Panagos26.8
85Fabian Adami26.76
86Ioannis Gkekas25.95
87Fedon Doukas25.54
88Perrys Venetsanos25.16
89Pavlos Spourelas25.13
90Pavlos Spourelas25.13
91Goulielmos Giorgos24.93
92Asterios Drogalas24.68
93Costas Christopoulos22.91
94Raffaello Saracini20.87