f Home - gps-speedsurfing

Detail information event

Event name2013 Odyssey of Speed
Start DateFriday, March 1, 2013
End DateMonday, September 30, 2013
Event contactinfowww.odysseyofspeed.org
Event moderatorTim Otte

Event description and NOR


Official Notice of Race (NoR) for download on the event web site: http://www.odysseyofspeed.org


The Odyssey of Speed is taking place at all windsurfing spots in Greece, which are registered under www.gps-speedsurfing.com.


The Odyssey of Speed will take place from the 01.03.2013 until 30.09.2013.


The Basic Rules of www.gps-speedsurfing.comVersion 9.0 (ref. 1) apply.

This year the event will include two different classes with two different rankings.

1.     ‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

2.     ‘EXCITE’ Class for Freeriders (being advised to use non-speed equipment or rental equipment from the local surf stations)

As the ‘EXCITE’ class is supposed to be the class for freeriders, serious speedsurfers are advised to compete in the ‘TITANS’ class. Any sailor can participate in one class only, either ‘TITANS’ or ‘EXCITE’ class. Beside this, any windsurfer that has on www.gps-speedsurfing.coma Max Speed (2sec) recorded higher than 38 knots and/or is a registered rider in the ISWC or PWA is not allowed to compete in the ‘EXCITE’ Class.

Scoring / Results

1.‘TITANS’ Class for Speedsurfers

Within the course of the event the following speed/slalom categories will be considered for the ranking:

  • Cat. A:             2 sec GPS max. Speed
  • Cat. B:             5 x 10sec GPS average
  • Cat. C:             500 m GPS max.
  • Cat. D:            1 hour GPS max.
  • Cat. E:             Alpha Racing (500m)
  • Cat. F:             Maximum Distance travelled during one day (24 hours)

For the ‘TITANS’ Class each session result needs to be uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comusing the automatic upload function of the approved evaluation software (see ref.1. §8). Multiple sessions during a day are allowed (see ref.1 §.11), however should be avoided. Sessions shall be uploaded not later than two weeks after they have been sailed. Uploads are possible until 30.09.2013. 20:00. Any sessions uploaded after this deadline can not be considered for the ranking.

All GPS tracks needs to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

Scoring: For the event’s ranking points will be awarded for the best performance in each category during the period of the event. For each category all competitors are awarded points equivalent to their ranking position in each category, except the first place, which is awarded 0.7 points. Competitors who will not supply a result for a category during the event or who are disqualified score the points awarded to the last possible finishing position.

The Overall ranking will be based the accumulated points out of all categories.

2. ‘EXCITE’ Class

In order to keep it simple in the ‘EXCITE’-Class only the Cat. A: 2 sec GPS max. Speed during any session will be considered. The GPS tracks must be also uploaded to www.gps-speedsurfing.comand marked as ‘EXITE-Class’ in the comment space. Contact us if you need help for session uploading procedures.

The ranking will be made considering all posted results in the entire period.

The updated results will be communicated on the event website www.odysseyofspeed.org,on www.gps-speedsurfing.comand the HSSWA website www.speedslalom.gr and at the participating surf stations on-site in Karpathos.

Sailing Equipment

Only windsurfing equipment is approved.

GPS Equipment

The official GPS of the 'Odyssey of Speed' is the LOCOSYS GT-31/BGT-31. This are the only GPS units currently recommended by International GPS Speed Sailing Organizations. Only sessions recorded by GT-31 (and GT-11) units will be recognized.

Entry fee

The Odyssey of Speed is free and there is no entry fee.

Awards & Prizes

The winner in the ‘TITANS’-Class will be awarded with the title ‘Odysseus of Speed 2013’ and will along with that receive the travelling trophy of the Odyssey of Speed.   

HSSWA – Speed King Titles

Further to the main trophy, among all participants of the Odyssey of Speed, the HSSWA will award the title/s “Speed King of ….. ” to every spot that manages by the end of the event, to present a ranking with more than 5 participants. For the Speed King only the fastest 5 x 10sec GPS averagesession(Cat. B) will count. Each "King" (or "Queen"!) will be presented with his/her Award during the HSSWA Year Overall Ranking prize giving!

Already confirmed prizes, detailed prizing scheme will follow:

·       (1) one week free accommodation in the new Thalassa Suites in Afiartis (valid outside of High-Season)

·       (2) VECTORFINS Maui fin (Slalom type)

·       (3) MAUI ULTRA Fins (G10 type - free of choice)

·       (1) Week free rental equipment at CLUB MISTRAL Karpathos

·       (4) LOCOSYS GT-31 GPS units

·       (4) AQUAPAC waterproof cases

·       (1) GO Bandit HD Camera sponsored by SURF TOOLS


Each participant should take responsibility for himself and can be disqualified if he/she exposes herself or others at unnecessary risk. If extra weights are used a vest must support the weights or equivalent that provides a positive buoyancy of the weights. Wetsuit, etc. are not counted as flotation devices. Sailors who refuse to provide help to those who show emergency signal will be disqualified.


Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.


The event is organized by Tim Otte in close cooperation with the Hellenic Speed Slalom Windsurfing Association (HSSWA).

on Facebook

Contact:   info@odysseyofspeed.org


Event update messages

Event subscribers
1Christian Bornemann48.22
2Dirk Jan Knol47.62
3Minos Efstathiadis45.55
4Anders Bjorkqvist45.47
5Johnny Tuijn44.87
6Armin Hoefer42.16
7Eric Groot-van Ederen41.77
8Panagiotis Drakopoulos41.31
9Tim Otte40.98
10Oane Kingma40.24
11Alexandros Petikidis39.63
12Thomopoulos Dinos39.23
13Albanis George38.96
14Alexander Doukas38.7
15John Papaspirou38.69
16Markus Tauber38.54
17Vladan Desnica38.1
18Mats Ferner37.68
19Manolis Kapnisakis37.57
20Doxis Milidakis37.31
21Birgit Hoefer37.22
22Boufis Vaggelis37.02
23Dimitris Apalagakis36.79
24Adrian Kezele36.48
25Antonio Cretella36.45
26Antonio Cretella36.45
27Stephanos Grapsas36.27
28Babis Sakadaris36.2
29George Papagiannakis36.15
30Tomislav Jaklin35.89
31Roland Ruskauff35.79
32Kostas Stamboulis35.36
33Ilias Tsekouras35.05
34George Kantzouros34.37
35Konstantinos Karavatas33.58
36Kostas Ntotsias33.53
37Hannes Rieger33.44
38Fotios Papadopoulos33.43
39Dionisis Mitropoulos33.16
40Dimitris Papagiannakis33.15
41Socrates Costicoglou33.08
42Leta Margoni32.99
43Mavris Haris32.76
44Thodoros Kritikos32.52
45Urska Desnica32.41
46Kanapitsas Georgios32.32
47Christos Galiropoulos32.18
48Haris Andreadakis31.82
49Michalis Korakas31.71
50Nikos Skouras31.31
51Mario Kontis31.08
52Angelo Avramopoulos31.06
53Panagiotis Tsoukalas30.93
54Jaap Oudesluijs30.83
55Kostas Raptis30.49
57Philip Gavrilos29.99
58Alex Mauroeidis29.62
59George Manev29.56
60Aris Koutras29.42
61Constantinos Christopoulos29.02
62Soulis Syrakis28.84
63Giorgos Maretsis28.43
64Giorgos Maretsis28.43
65Nikos Bourdis28.25
66Nicole Skodda27.64
67Matthias Florian27.53
68Thanos Sakkas27.52
69Goulielmos Giorgos27.15
70Panagos George26.8
71George Panagos26.8
72Fabian Adami26.76
73Ioannis Gkekas25.95
74Fedon Doukas25.54
75Perrys Venetsanos25.16
76Pavlos Spourelas25.13
77Asterios Drogalas24.68
78Costas Christopoulos22.91
79Raffaello Saracini20.87